Saturday, 18 June 2011

Is Marmite gluten-free?


Yes, in the UK at least.  Here's the list of the UK marmite ingredients:

Is Marmite gluten-free and suitable for coeliacs?

  • Yeast Extract


  • Salt


  • Vegetable Extract


  • Niacin


  • Thiamin


  • Spice Extracts


  • Riboflavin


  • Folic Acid


  • Celery Extract


  • Vitamin B12


  • In fact you might consider Marmite to be a useful source of Thiamin and Riboflavin, which non vegetarian coeliacs can get from cereals and bread.

    And just to confirm, yes marmite is suitable for vegetarians.

    Marmite is great with cheese and also, surprisingly, spring onions and avocado. 

    Whether you want to 'eat it, . . . bathe in it, wallow in it like a hippo in mud, slather yourself from head to toe' and wrap yourself up in gluten-free bread and butter, it's all good.

    No, I'm not sponsored by Marmite and I don't have shares in the company, but I'm always pleased to add a versatile ingredient to our meagre store. 

    Here's that list of safe, gluten-free, vegetarian ingredients.

    Now grab your rice cakes and let's get sticky.

    Todays source: Tony Hall, Careline Advisor, Unilever

    No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.